Easy Tips to Enhance Your Relationship With Parents

Since I was very litter, my mom alway says her love to me is always unconditional, and she will  whisper in my ears

“You are my sunshine, my only sunshine

You make me happy when skies are gray

You’ll never know dear, how much I love you

Please don’t take my sunshine away

….”

screen-shot-2016-11-22-at-7-35-41-pm

My father, in another hand, who has difficulty to express his feeling with words. Instead, he would express his love through his action. He sent me to the most expensive schools, hired the best teachers to tutor me, and he always made sure I got everything I needed.

The best and most beautiful things in the world cannot be seen or even touched — they must be felt with the heart.” — Helen Keller

While I thought I was the luckiest kid in the world, they got divorced, right before I turned seven. For a long period of time, I was frustrated and desperate, trying to do everything I could to get their attention and only hoping doing so could save my family from tearing apart. I cut school, I stole, and I even cut my hair like a boy just to give them hard times. I acted like a hopeless and what my relatives called an “irreparable” child for almost 10 years. And then, all the sudden, I just realized in my deepest heart that the status of their marriage doesn’t interference my relationships with them. Hurting them was just as worst as hurting me.

After realizing how much they have sacrificed for me, there is not a single day I don’t regret what I have done. And then I got through my head, I have learned that in our lives, we do things and made mistakes, and we might end up hating ourselves for what we did. But there is no reason for us to have regrets. Hopefully, all of us grow by self-reflection and keep growing all the time. Plus, parents always forgive their children no matter what.

Long story short! It is never too late to make up your past. Here are some easy tips on what I did to enhance my relationships with my mom and dad!

I treat my parents as if they are my best friends.

  • Have a girl time with your mama, share your little secrets with her, tell her about your date, there is nothing you could do to make her happier than being intimacy with her.
  • Go excise with your dad, discuss a book with him, tell him about all these exciting things happened at school. I always ask my dad what’s his point of views on news matters, because it will make him feel respected and needed.
  • Remember their birthdays and don’t forget to send them little presents like what you would do to your best friends. Gifts don’t have to be expensive, parents don’t like when we spend a lot of money buying their presents. You could make them a birthday card, knit a scarf, or even make a funny video of yourself! I still remember 10 years ago, I got my mom a nice perfume for Valentine’s day by using the money I saved from my first job. On the card, I said, “Dear Mom, I will always be your Valentine.”

I tried to spend more time with them, and at least hang out with them once a week.

  • Cook with your parents whenever you can. Show them your survival skills you have learned overseas. I always help clean up and wash the dishes after dinner, to show them I am capable taking good care of myself.
  • Dress up your mom and take selfies together! I always dress up my mother and take her shopping, it’s important to make her feel young and beautiful at all times!
  • Give them a massage while watching TV.

Last but not least, keep in mind to always be patience with them.

Year after years, I had come up with my own definition of love. Love is prioritizing the person you love most. In an eye blink, the ones that love you most have grown old. There aren’t too many times left. I wish you all have a healthy and loving relationships with your mom and dad.

Leave a Reply

